Messi With The Second Red Card Of His Career, Skipped The Medal Ceremony
Messi was shown the second red card in his career in the game between Chile and Argentina where Argentina beat Chile with 2-1 on the scoreboard. This game was played to decide the third position of the Copa-America.
The best player in the world Lionel Messi, the Barcelona forward, made an assist for the first goal scored by Sergio Aguero before the goal by Paulo Dybala to make it 2-0.
But Messi got a red card in the first half of the game, following the clash with Gary Medel, Chile player who was dismissed too.
Vidal from the other side scored a goal on penalty changing the score to 2-1, however, the point on the discussion here is with the red card to Messi was not fair, who has never been sent off for Barcelona on his entire career except in the team international 14 years ago.
Lionel Messi on anger skipped the medal ceremony on Copa America accusing the game officials, referee, of corruption on the claim that, Argentina’s failure to win the tournament and his rare red card.
The two players forcefully knocked chests various time before match official Mauro Diaz de Vivar mediated and promptly flashed red cards for both.
It’s a play that happens a lot. [Medel] always plays to the limit. I think the referee overreacted. With a yellow card for both of us, everything would be over,” he said.
“I feel a lot of anger because I think I did not deserve that red card because I think we were playing a very good game. We were ahead, but, as I said recently, unfortunately, there is a lot of corruption, the referees. … We leave with the feeling that they did not allow us to be in the final, that we were ready for better. Brazil’s match and today’s match were our two best performances, but then when you are sincere, you say things and these things happen.”